Congested mailbox of student accounts
The storage space for all e-mails in all e-mail folders (quota) of a student account is limited to a total of 2 GB. If this limit is exceeded, you will not be able to receive new e-mails. Theoretically, you will still be able to send e-mails after exceeding this limit, but sent e-mails will not be saved in the “Sent” folder of your account. Incoming e-mails will be buffered in a queue for up to five days after the date of exceedance. You will receive an e-mail with further details.
In order to clear storage, delete non-essential messages if you have exceeded the quota. We recommend focusing on e-mails with large attachments, which occupy most storage.
- Click on the column heading „Size“ to arrange your e-mails in order of their size.
- At the end (or the beginning, depending on the sorting order) of the list, you will find e-mails with large attachments.
- You can return to chronological order by clicking on the column heading “Date”.
If you use Webmail on a mobile device (smartphone, tablet), a modified user interface with fewer adjustment options usually appears. Therefore, we recommand to use a “normal” computer to clean up your emails. Alternatively, you may choose dynamic mode on the login screen when logging into Webmail from a mobile device (please beware that dynamic mode is difficult to use on touchscreens).
Deactivate trash mailbox
If you see a trash symbol in the folder list, click on
- the gearwheel symbol
- and Mail.
- Choose “Deleting and Removing Messages” in the window that opens now. Un-tick the box next to “Move deleted messages to your Trash mailbox instead of marking them as deleted in the current mailbox?”
- Confirm your modifications with “Save”.
Choose now the e-mails that you wish to delete by ticking the box next to the individual messages. Beware when ticking the box in the column heading: You will mark all e-mails in the folder, including e-mails not displayed on the screen window. We recommend avoiding this option since you can delete all e-mails in the selected folder.
Mark the messages and click on “Delete”. The selected e-mails will be marked for deletion (grey, strike trough, trashcan symbol), but are still available. If required, you can restore single messages (click the right mouse button on the e-mail and select “Undelete” in the context menu).
In order to clear storage by permanently deleting e-mails previously marked for deletion, click on the menu “Other” above on the right hand side.
Select “Purge Deleted” and the marked e-mails will be deleted permanently.
If you have freed a sufficient amout of storage space, you will be able to receive new e-mails. E-mails queued for delivery to your inbox will be served within 15 minutes. Please check if sufficient storage is available for the incoming batch of e-mails.
Note: E-mail messages in the shared folder “betrieb-aktuell” cannot be deleted. These e-mails are for your information about ongoing maintenance work. They do not occupy any of your storage space. You can mark these e-mails as read for more clarity (right click on the folder and “Mark all as — Seen”).
If you have any questions or problems, please contact the RRZK-Helpdesk